19 September 2011

Today we started our Memoir Unit.  To enliven things a little bit, I’ve made a few changes:

  • I’m hoping we’ll get a chance to talk about the memoirs we’ve read, see what we’re learning from them.
  • I’m assigning your critique groups ahead of time so you can plan more effectively
  • I’ve made your critique groups using readiness.  This means one group is ready to function independently with Corrie to score, and the other group gets to have me as a full time member/mentor.  I think it’s a win/win for all of us.
I also gave out a copy of your Memoir Rubric, which I think you’ll find very helpful.  The rubric is a great guide for you in your writing process.
Hmm.  Discussion didn’t go at all.  Too bad.  I think we’ll start Wednesday’s class with a more structured small group discussion comparing and contrasting the two pieces that you read on Monday and Tuesday.  Hopefully that will help.
Leave a Reply

