12/19 – Fiction Round Table

For our daily warm ups this week, we’re going to use the “Complete That Story” notebook exercises. I’ll give you the START of a story. You write what’s next. Here’s today’s:

“How did you know?” I asked, not sure I wanted the answer. I thought I had been careful. I thought she____________….

Then, today we are going to talk about the annotations you did on your fiction excerpts. I’m going to ask you to get into small groups and talk about these things:

  • The best story I read was __________ because ________.
  • One of my green lines was from a story about __________. The green line was ____________. It was a green line because _____________.
  • Another of my green lines was from a story about __________. The green line was ____________. It was a green line because _____________.
  • All/Some/None of the stories I read followed the character/problem/struggle/solution form of plot.
    • If the story DID follow the pattern, did it work?
    • If the story did NOT follow that pattern, why? What did they do differently? Did it work?
  • In the stories I read, the writer developed character by doing this: __________. For example _____________.
  • The best dialogue I read was _________. It was the best because _________.

In your discussions, I want you to be as SPECIFIC as possible. I do not want to hear vapid, inane things like:

  • It just flows really well together.
  • I just liked it.
  • The way he did it, it just worked. I don’t know.

If you’re stuck for specifics, think about those reading like a writer tools we talked about. Here’s what each of those tools might sound like if you were talking about short stories:

Screen Shot 2016-12-19 at 1.15.23 PM.png

As you discuss, I will be grading your discussion; coming around and listening in to each of your groups. Every time I hear you make a MEANINGFUL (non-inane) contribution to your group, I’ll put a check mark next to your name.

  • 0 check marks = 7.5 points (50% credit for breathing)
  • 1 check mark = 10 points
  • 2 check marks = 12 points
  • 3 check marks = 15 points

 

Leave a Reply

